Luna Leopold

Luna Leopold

Luna Leopold

Birth : (1915-10-08)October 8, 1915 Albuquerque, New Mexico

Death : February 23, 2006(2006-02-23)(aged 90) Berkeley, California

Personal Information

Name Luna Leopold
Birth (1915-10-08)October 8, 1915 Albuquerque, New Mexico
Birth Place Albuquerque, New Mexico
Death (2006-02-23)(aged 90) Berkeley, California
Died At Berkeley, California
Nationality American
Alma Mater University of Wisconsin–Madison,University of California, Los Angeles,Harvard University
Fields geomorphology,hydrology

Word Cloud

Events Occured in Scienctist Life


Luna Bergere Leopold (October 8, 1915 – February 23, 2006) was a leading U.S. geomorphologist and hydrologist, and son of Aldo Leopold.


He received a B.S. in civil engineering from the University of Wisconsin in 1936; an M.S. in physics-meteorology from the University of California, Los Angeles in 1944; and a Ph.D. in geology from Harvard University in 1950.Leopold is widely known in his primary field for his work in fluvial geomorphology and for the classic book, Fluvial Processes in Geomorphology, that he wrote with Gordon Wolman and John Miller.


From 1937 to 1940, Leopold worked as an engineer for the U.S. Soil Conservation Service in New Mexico.


In 1940, he enlisted and was a part of the U.S. Army Weather Service and the Army Air Force.


He was in the Army until 1946 and he rose from the rank of Private to Captain.


From 1946 to 1950, Leopold served as the Chief Meteorologist of the Pineapple Research Institute, Hawaii.


In 1950, he joined the U.S. Geological Survey.


He worked for the USGS until 1972 serving as Hydraulic Engineer (1950–56), Chief Hydrologist (1956–66), and Senior Research Hydrologist (1966–72).


In 1972, Leopold joined the faculty of the University of California, Berkeley as a professor in the Department of Geology and Geophysics and Department of Landscape Architecture.


He retired in 1986 and continued as a Professor Emeritus until his death in 2006.


Leopold, Luna B. (1966, reprinted 1981).


  • 1958 - Recipient of the first Kirk Bryan Award of the Geological Society of America (with Thomas J. Maddock, Jr.)
  • 1968 - Recipient of the Cullum Geographical Medal of the American Geographical Society
  • 1972 - President of The Geological Society of America
  • 1973 - Recipient of the G. K. Warren Prize from the National Academy of Sciences.
  • 1980 - Honorary Doctorate from the University of Wisconsin
  • 1981 - Honorary Doctorate from the University of St. Andrews, Scotland
  • 1991 - Awarded the National Medal of Science.
  • 1992 - Awarded the Robert E. Horton Medal
  • 1994 - Awarded the Penrose Medal
  • 1994 - Awarded the Joan Hodges Queneau Palladium Medal
  • 2006 - Awarded The Benjamin Franklin Medal in Earth Science